I just wanted to get a discussion going about terminators and drop pods. I recently put the question forward to Siph about termi's in drop pods following seeing a picture of some dark angel termi's coming out of a drop pod.
We discussed the pro's and con's- we both believe termi's shouldn't be allowed (apart from characters attached to a squad with a dedicated drop pod) However if you read the rules, it doesn't state terminators cannot be transport, like with the case with rhino's and razorbacks.
Drop podding Terminators?!?!?
I've had a read of several codices, and imperial armour and have found that the dark angels codex states that terminators can be transported- as does the Apocalypse II imperial armour book.
The GW line is that terminators can be transported via drop pod, that the DP is purchased by a tactical, but that the terminators use it instead (if I'm a tactical marine, I'd offer my spot in a dp if a termi asked!)
This does seem slightly odd- I can see the point of DP'ing terminators as you are guaranteed not to lose them due to a deep strike mishap- at 200+points you really don't won't to lose time- it also means that you can drop pod assault them in on turn one. however in the spirit of the game would you say it was fair?
please add your suggestions- cheers!